Notes From Babel

A plague on words

with 4 comments

Some amusing mangled expressions I’ve either heard recently, or imagined someone, somewhere must be committing:

  • If I weren’t short on funds, I’d of bought a new car by now.
  • The garage is so small that, for all intensive purposes, it’s of little use.
  • It’s getting late; I’d just assume go home.
  • We’ve come into unchartered territory.
  • The looming deadline is a real spur under my saddle.
  • He won by a hare’s breath.
Written by Tim Kowal

October 5, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Posted in Language

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And I’ve not yet revealed my favorites yet, as I plan to dispense them discreetly at the appropriate time.

    Tim Kowal

    October 6, 2010 at 7:48 am

  2. Good Lord, those are some whoppers. “All intensive purposes,” man, that’s rough. As for the hair’s breadth or burr under the saddle bits, I really hate cliches, and figure that anybody screwing up while regurgitating these tired old echos gets their just deserts.

    (get it? yuk, yuk)

    Cheers,

    -B

    BothEyesShut

    October 7, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    • You’ve got “just deserts” right, unless you mean to refer to the sweet stuff.

      Tim Kowal

      October 7, 2010 at 3:33 pm


Leave a Reply

