Notes From Babel

Eric Massa, Legislator-King

with 3 comments

I’ve been hearing rumblings from folks (Ezra Klein, for one) who lament that Americans, tut tut, have taken to opposing health care proposals that are really in their best interests, and how can the brainier among us focus our intellect upon convincing our dim-witted brethren to get on the progressive wagon.  Rep. Eric Massa (D-N.Y.) suggests we can just obviate the endeavor of convincing the electorate what is good for them, and just give it to ’em anyway:

MASSA:  I will vote for the single payer bill.

PARTICIPANT: Even if it meant you were being voted out of office?

MASSA: I will vote adamantly against the interests of my district if I actually think what I am doing is going to be helpful.

(inaudible participants’ comments regarding the “interests” of the district statement from Mr. Massa)

MASSA: I will vote against their opinion if I actually believe it will help them.

What a reprehensible threat of the use of raw political power.

Written by Tim Kowal

August 18, 2009 at 6:42 pm

Posted in Health Care, Politics

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Given the steadily declining support for a public option, statements like Clinton’s and Eric Massa’s clearly indicate they are “systematically follow[ing] a tendency hostile to th[e] […]

  2. […] for health care reform have stood on anything but democratic principles.  Eric Massa (D-N.Y.) has baldly stated “I will vote adamantly against the interests of my district if I actually think what I am […]

  3. […] leave a comment » I do. […]


Leave a Reply

